It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Work Items, Approvals and delivery.

Nagesh Subrahmanyam (771211) | asked Oct 13 '11, 12:15 p.m.
I am just getting started with the idea of work items in RTC. I do not follow the idea of Approvals for Work Items.

Suppose, a work item requires my approval and I have rejected it. This work item has a couple of change sets associated to it. Then, because the approval was not provided, can this work item be still delivered (via, lscm deliver -c <work_item>) ? It would be interesting to know, if one can enforce a policy of delivering only those change sets that have associated work items for which approvals are in place.

Accepted answer

permanent link
Michael Leithner (1131910) | answered Oct 14 '11, 7:00 a.m.
If you are using the RTC SCM and Work Items, you can do exactly what you want: require an approval before delivering change sets.

What is RTC SCM and Work Items ? I am using RTC client. :?:
RTC SCM = Rational team concert source code management (like subversion)
Work items are the "requirements" for your project, such as bugs, improvements and so on

What you want to do (as i understand it) can be configured in the project area settings.
In the Eclipse Client:
Go to Process configuration and in the Tree select "Team Configuration->Operation Behavior"
There you can select the operation "Sourcecontrol management->Deliver" for your specific roles and add a precondition.
For example "require work item Approval" what is think is what you needed.

I don't find these configuration possibilities yet in the web client on my own,
if somebody, please let me know ^^

I am using RTC 3.0.1 in german, sorry if the names doesn't fit ^^
Nagesh Subrahmanyam selected this answer as the correct answer

Comments
Nagesh Subrahmanyam commented Dec 19 '12, 10:44 a.m.