It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

RTC Build Definition Help

Boris Kivshar (8686) | asked Sep 05 '11, 12:12 a.m.
Hi Guys.
I need some Build help. I am a total newbie when it comes to this specialty.

I'm using RTC 3.0.1 & a Build System Toolkit with ant on another server. I have setup a build engine and it's running ok.

My Jazz Source Control setup:
(1) Final Stream
(2) Team Stream
(3) Build Stream Workspace
(4) Personal Stream Workspace

Within all that are the following components:
A) JAVA Based Application
B) External Packaged Application
C) External Packaged Application

We are ok with creating a build definition for (A) utilizing the exiting Ant file, but as part of a final build/release we need to incorporate the other two components loaded into source control (B)(C).

The (B) & (C) components are pre-existing binaries & installers are are part of our product baseline. (no code here at all, no compiler required)

The first problem:
How can I use the build engine to simply take those two componentsout from source control, create a build within the build queue and dump that as a build to a network share? (no code is build here at all)

The second problem:
How can I combine the existing ant build definition for component (A) to also perform the steps in problem 1, and incude components (B) & (C) in the same build? (Even at the higher "Final Stream" level)

I have had a look at the various articles and the jazz wiki but can't seem to be getting anywhere. If I am talking rubish here, then I am sorry. Clearly shows my lack of understanding in this despite reading a lot of articles in this area

Any help is muchly appreciated.

One answer

permanent link
Nick Edgar (6.5k711) | answered Sep 08 '11, 9:46 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Hi Boris,