It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

prepending of project name to source files.

Kevin Kingsbury (611310) | asked Mar 03 '08, 4:01 p.m.
Hi. I am fairly new to jazz scm (about 1 week so far). I am trying to check in some of our existing source files to start working with and see if jazz will work for our environment.

The process that I am going through to get the source into the jazz server is the following.

- Create a New Project and load the source into it.
- Share the new project with a Stream and Component
of a jazz repository.
- Looking at the pending changes for the stream shows that
the files of my source now have the project prepended to
the path of the files.

If I then extract these files, I will see that extract happens into a directory that matches the name of the project.

For example:

If I have a file called src/test.java in a project testproj. I will see the following checked into the jazz server.

testproj/src/test.java

Is there anyway that this function can be turned off? Or is this a problem with the current milestone. I am running on milestone M5.

Thanks,
Kevin

5 answers

permanent link
Jean-Michel Lemieux (2.5k11) | answered Mar 03 '08, 10:30 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
We check-in the same structure as shown in the local sandbox. If your looking for an easy way to import from an existing location on the filesystem, try the following, create a new project and in the wizard select the "create project from existing source". That will create a project with the name and pointing to your original files.
Jean-Michel
Jazz Source Control Team

permanent link
Kevin Kingsbury (611310) | answered Mar 04 '08, 6:01 a.m.
Thanks for the reply.