It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Update Rational Quality Manager test cases to use different test script

Paul Sandie (38911) | asked Aug 27 '18, 12:29 p.m.
We have an RQM project that has hundreds of test cases using one Rational Functional Tester test script. I want to update those cases to instead use a specific Command Line test script instead. It appears I can't edit the Rational Functional Tester test script to change it into a Command Line one. Does anyone know if this is possible ?

Failing that I'd have to programatically update the individual test cases, maybe via the rest api which I have no experience of. Has anybody any experience of doing that ?

We're using Rational Quality Manager 4.0.6

One answer

permanent link
Vijay Patil (4813) | answered Aug 28 '18, 4:52 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER

Hi Paul,

Once the test script is created, you cannot change its type. So Rational Functional Tester test script cannot be converted to Command Line test script.
You will have to create a new Command Line test script and unfortunately you might have to add the test script to the affected test cases manually. Or you can use the RQM REST APIs to updated the affected test cases with new Command Line test script (you can remove existing RFT test script as well). You can refer to following WIKI pages to know more details about REST API and RQM URL Utility

https://jazz.net/wiki/bin/view/Main/RqmApi
https://jazz.net/wiki/bin/view/Main/RQMURLUtility

You can use RQMURLUtility to get the affected test case RDF file, replace the RFT test script with Command Line test script in the RDF file and upload the RDF file using RQMURLUtility. And iterate it for all affected test cases IDs.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Vijay

Comments
Paul Sandie commented Aug 28 '18, 10:00 a.m.
Hi Vijay,

Thanks for this answer. I was coming to a similar conclusion - that I'd have to somehow iterate across all affected test cases updating to reference the command line script.