It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Context root not found


Jagadish Ashok (1513) | asked Mar 07 '17, 4:24 a.m.
edited Mar 07 '17, 4:26 a.m.

 I'm pretty beginner with the whole RTC concept, so I have started a server:


Server clm is started.
The clm server was started.
    
I am trying to login to jazz admin page to configure the setup, the url I'm using is:
    
http://[fully qualified hostname]:9080/jts/setup
http://[fully qualified hostname]:9080/jts/admin

I get the "Context root not found" page, not sure where am I going wrong. Then again I found a URL for Liberty admin center page ( not sure why is it used). But I gave it a try

http://[fully qualified hostname]:9080/adminCenter

I can open the page, but i do not have the login credentials. It is pretty confusing, if anyone can guide me through it'd be helpful

</pre>

Accepted answer


permanent link
Ralph Schoon (55.1k23642) | answered Mar 07 '17, 7:19 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

 Reading is important in the forums. As already mentioned:


Popular install error: Install in \Program Files\ and assume starting the server has admin permissions needed to create folders  

If you install in Program Files you have to run the server.startup with "As Admin" even if you are logged in as admin. The servers need to created folders and files on the initial start up and without being an admin they can not do that underneath Program Files.

My suggestion: pick a different install folder e.g. C:\CLM\CLM_version_Number.
    

Jagadish Ashok selected this answer as the correct answer

Comments
Jagadish Ashok commented Mar 07 '17, 9:05 a.m.

 Sorry for delayed response. Ok so i removed everything and did a clean reinstall with new location:



But I am still getting this error:

http://pasteboard.co/Gzhkm6Z8a.png

Please help me fixing this issue. 


Ralph Schoon commented Mar 07 '17, 9:16 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

 The public URI for the server in a standard install without any changes is 


http://[fully qualified hostname]:9443/jts


Good luck.



Jagadish Ashok commented Mar 07 '17, 9:25 a.m. | edited Mar 07 '17, 9:31 a.m.

 I used the same URL, just that i have erased the hostname.


https://[my hostname]:9443/jts/setup

This is the URL i have used. But still i get the same "Context Root not found" error, I followed this documentation:
 But unfortunately, i couldn't move after first step.


Ralph Schoon commented Mar 07 '17, 10:13 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

 You somehow manage to install stuff wrong, so only Liberty works, but no application. You provided incorrect URLs in your initial question already. 


It is really simple, install somewhere different than Program Files, run the server startup. Ideally using run as admin to make sure.... Wait until the prompt tells you the server is up and then run setup. It is really that simple. I have no idea what could go wrong, except the machine is totally lacking the required RAM or there are security settings on the machine that cause other effects.

Without any log information from /installDir/server\liberty\servers\clm\logs this is pretty much all we an do. I have no crystal ball to see at your server.

One other answer



permanent link
Ralph Schoon (55.1k23642) | answered Mar 07 '17, 4:38 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
edited Mar 07 '17, 4:40 a.m.

 That you can access the adminCenter only indicates that WAS Liberty is up and running. That you can not access the context root http://[fully qualified hostname]:9080/jts indicates that JTS was not successfully installed or started on the host.


I would start checking /installDir/server/liberty/servers/.logs and /installDir/server/conf if there is indeed a jts folder.


Comments
Jagadish Ashok commented Mar 07 '17, 4:51 a.m.

 Thank you for your reply, while chekcing /installDir/server/liberty/servers/.logs. This folder was empty. But while checking installDir/server/conf, there was a folder called jts with full of contents. I'd be grateful if you could help me solve this issue.


Ralph Schoon commented Mar 07 '17, 5:09 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

 Sorry the log folder is server\liberty\servers\clm\logs


You don't provide any data, so how should we help? See How should I ask a question in the Forum if I want to receive useful answers?

Popular install error: Install in \Program Files\ and assume starting the server has admin permissions needed to create folders


Jagadish Ashok commented Mar 07 '17, 5:17 a.m.

 I am so new to this concepts, I am not actually sure what data would be helpful. Please do ask me, I will provide all screenshots. 


Ralph Schoon commented Mar 07 '17, 5:31 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

 Maybe you carefully read what information is requested in  How should I ask a question in the Forum if I want to receive useful answers?  

OS, CLM Version, install location

Look at the log folder /installDir/server\liberty\servers\clm\logs - this is the corrected one ccm.log, jts.log and other logs are of interest.


Ralph Schoon commented Mar 07 '17, 5:32 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

Your reputation is too low to upload images directly. You will have  to upload them to a public site and put a link into your post here.


Jagadish Ashok commented Mar 07 '17, 7:08 a.m.

 Hey, sorry for dealyed response. 

OS: Windows 7, 64 bit.
Version : 8.5.5.9
Install location: C:\Program Files\IBM\JazzTeamServer

Pic of the /installDir/server\liberty\servers\clm\logs: http://pasteboard.co/GxavFInKi.png

I could not find any ccm.log or jts.log files, but below i have a pic of contents of the console file in the log folder.
Console:

It took some time to translate the messages.

showing 5 of 6 show 1 more comments

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.