It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

I want to dynamically make an attribute required when another attribute is null using conditions

John Atari (111) | asked Jun 16 '16, 9:52 p.m.
I am trying to make a work item attribute required when another attribute has no value. I have tried many different ways to return the null value but haven't had any luck. I am a student and new to RTC, any help would be appreciated. I have provided the code I am using below. Thank you in advance!

dojo.provide("org.example.workitems.providers.newAttributeCondition");

dojo.require("com.ibm.team.workitem.api.common.WorkItemAttributes");

var WorkItemAttributes = com.ibm.team.workitem.api.common.WorkItemAttributes;

dojo.declare("org.example.workitems.providers.newAttributeCondition", null, {

matches: function(attributeID, workItem, configuration) {

var RCAppID= (workItem.getValue("newAttribute") //newAttribute is the attributeID

return (RCAppID !=== null) //if id newAttribute is not null, attribute is required

}
});
})();

Comments
John Atari commented Jun 16 '16, 10:39 p.m.

I have updated my script to this with still no avail:

dojo.provide("org.example.workitems.providers.SubTeamRequired")

dojo.require("com.ibm.team.workitem.api.common.WorkItemAttributes")

(function(){
var WorkItemAttributes= com.ibm.team.workitem.api.common.WorkItemAttributes;

dojo.declare("org.example.workitems.providers.SubTeamRequired", null, {

matches: function(workItem, configuration) {

var subTeam= (workItem.getValue("rootCauseApp"));
    var result = subTeam !=== "";

return result;
    }
});
})();

One answer

permanent link
Donald Nong (14.5k414) | answered Jun 16 '16, 11:38 p.m.
So your question is actually how to detect whether a value is null, undefined or empty in JavaScript. If really depends on what the type of attribute "rootCauseApp" is. For a general discussion on this topic, check out this port on StackOverflow.