It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to link test script in a test case

Akshay Goel (1315) | asked May 22 '15, 2:41 p.m.
 Hi,

I am new to the RQM, i am using it to import my test script from excel.
How can i link them to the test cases created from the xls only.

I searched i found a command as "testcase.XLSLink=testscript", but i am not able to link them.
Please give me a solution. Config file i am using.

// this configuration file creates testscripts with testcases using self referential
// and column based data with categories

// Start looking for scripts after row 2

testscript.XLSStartRow=2

// a new script starts when we encounter an empty row
//testscript.XLSDelimeter=\n

testscript.dc:title=D
testscript.dc:description=E

// step type is defined within the spreadsheet
testscript.steps.type="execution"
testscript.steps.description=L
testscript.steps.title=K
testscript.steps.expectedResult=M

// self referential links must be declared before also using column definitions
testcase.dc:title=testscript.dc:title
testcase.dc:description=testscript.dc:description
// testcase.weight=O
testcase.priority=B
testcase.category term="Phase".value=H
testcase.category term="Module".value=G
testcase.category term="Actor".value=F
//testcase.Phase=H
//testcase.Module=G
//testcase.Actor=F
testcase.XLSLink=testscript

testcase.XLSDelimeter=\n

One answer

permanent link
Don Yang (7.7k21114139) | answered May 24 '15, 8:12 p.m.
You have used self referential links to link testcase and testscript, you cannot use XLSLink keyword at the same time.
So in your case, you may comment [testcase.XLSLink=testscript ] out and try again and see how it works.

In your installed ExcelImporter directory\Samples, you should be able to find some available samples to demo "linking test case to test script" using self referential links or XLSLink keyword.