It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Formal description of the link between categories, timelines and WI assignment to TAs, how can mistakes of missassigning WIs to wrong TAs be avoided.

Leonid Guelsinov (623) | asked Oct 07 '14, 10:24 a.m.
edited Oct 07 '14, 10:35 a.m.
Can someone please give answers or put here references to help me clearly understand these questions' answers:
Q1: How Categories and Timelines are associating a WI (work Item) to a team area?
Q2: How exactly the limiting of "category visibility" and "WI access" influence  these assignments or their usage?
(my background is that I want to avoid a team-member to assign a WI by mistake to a wrong team and it gets lost and found when it is too late)
Q3: Is there some standard ways/scenarios of using RTC to setup a multi-team project, timelines and TA assignments to them?
(I am using a jazz installation 4.0.4 - but would appreciate any answer )

Background:
I am trying to set-up a good bases for a comparatively complex multi-team project (my ballpark is (1) Active development about 3 years :10 teams x 10 people each (2) Maintenance  with maintenance horizon of 10 years)
I believe that I read a lot of info the internet search offered as well as the documentation of RTC. I even did some experiments with assignments of categories and work-items and still, my understanding becomes more and more confused.
I cannot believe that this is not explained already somewhere. Still, the fact is that I cannot find it.
->I would highly appreciate if someone can give me a formal explanation in a pseudo-code, block-diagram or any (semi-)formal way which is reliable and unambiguous.
-> I prefer to keep most of the team in a single Project Area - although this can be changed - it is not a hard requirement.

Comments
Leonid Guelsinov commented Oct 07 '14, 11:47 a.m.

I am afraid that my answer is not clear after seeing the first answer so I have made a simple refinement: