It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Set a new value to an attribute of a WorkItem with Java Plain API

Tiago Fernandez (5351619) | asked Aug 14 '13, 1:23 p.m.
edited Oct 15 '14, 9:33 a.m. by Ralph Schoon (63.1k33646)

Hello, I am brand new with Java Plain API and I am trying to set a new Value to an attibute of a workItem.
I am doing it in Groovy that is similar to Java.

Part of the code I have is (I already have the workItem and the iAttribute varibales):

def copyManager = workItemClient.getWorkItemWorkingCopyManager(); 
copyManager.connect(workItem, IWorkItem.FULL_PROFILE, new SysoutProgressMonitor());
def workItemCopy = copyManager.getWorkingCopy(workItem);
def workItem_to_edit = (IWorkItem) workItemCopy.getWorkItem();
def inter = new Integer("4");
workItem_to_edit.setValue(iAttribute, inter)

but I get the following error:

Caught: org.eclipse.core.runtime.AssertionFailedException: assertion failed:
org.eclipse.core.runtime.AssertionFailedException: assertion failed:
        at org.eclipse.core.runtime.Assert.isTrue(Assert.java:110)
        at org.eclipse.core.runtime.Assert.isTrue(Assert.java:96)
        at com.ibm.team.workitem.common.internal.model.impl.WorkItemImpl.setValue(WorkItemImpl.java:2909)
        at com.ibm.team.workitem.common.model.IWorkItem$setValue.call(Unknown Source)
        at script.run(script.groovy:124)

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for the help.

Comments
Philip Smith commented Aug 14 '13, 4:38 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER

A failure with that stack trace means there is no attribute by checking hasAttribute() (yes, the error could be much better).
Where did the value of iAttribute come from? Maybe it is not applicable to that work item's type?

Tiago Fernandez commented Aug 14 '13, 4:47 p.m. | edited Aug 14 '13, 4:53 p.m.

I will show more details of my code, but as an answer since it doesn't fit as a comment....

4 answers

permanent link
Surya Tripathi (65017) | answered Aug 15 '13, 8:14 p.m.