It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Request for feedback on FAQs (and proposed answers) (2 of 3)

Paul Sims (31513421) | asked Dec 14 '08, 6:52 p.m.
Please see topic https://jazz.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3062 for the context of my posting. This is the second topic of three.

Q5. As a manager I want to know how to interpret the burn-down chart so that I can use it to predict when work will be finished.
A5. The text of this answer comes from the burndown report explanation. I added clarification about the x- and y-axes.] The burndown report plots the remaining backlog of work in terms of the time estimated to complete it. The "y" axis is hours of remaining work and the "x" axis is the days in the sprint. Agile development methodologies such as Scrum use a burndown report to plot the daily progress toward the end of a sprint. Ideally, the chart will show a trend toward zero hours of remaining work as the sprint comes to a close. Only work items that are open and in progress and that have an estimate specified are included in the calculation. Watch for a burndown trend that does not approach zero. This may indicate unrealistic planning estimates.

Q6. As a ScrumMaster I want to easily move a set of sprint tasks back to the product backlog using "Plan for" so that I don't have to manually open each task and modify the "Planned For" field.
A6. I don't have a good answer. I think this is working as designed, and it's not convenient to move work from a sprint backlog to a team's Product Backlog. I can see my releases when I open a task and select the "Planned For" field drop-down. Selecting a task in the sprint backlog then right-clicking on it an selecting "Plan for" doesn't show the releases.]

Q7. As a ScrumMaster I want to see what tasks my team members are working on today so that so I can help re-prioritize my team members' tasks when a new task is added to the team's sprint backlog (e.g., investigate a customer problem).