It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Time Boxing: Move Closed / Fixed Taks


Markus Schille (7611) | asked Jul 05 '07, 6:20 a.m.
If a closed task (marked with green check mark) will be moved between users phantoms are created. If the iteration plane is saved again the phantoms disappear.

3 answers



permanent link
Michael Schneider (886) | answered Jul 10 '07, 5:05 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Hi Markus,

reassigning closed work items should work. The phantom users are clearly
a bug. However, we removed the timebox view in favor to a "scheduling
time"-based presentation integrated into the iteration plan editor. This
new grouping mode should be available from M2 on.

Cheers,
MikeS

mschille wrote:
If a closed task (marked with green check mark) will be moved between
users phantoms are created. If the iteration plane is saved again the
phantoms disappear.

permanent link
Markus Schille (7611) | answered Jul 12 '07, 3:46 a.m.
Hallo Michael,

regarding the replacement for the timebox view we will wait for the new function in M2.

Related to the moving of closed work items. You are right it is possible to move closed work items but for us this behavior was unexpected. From our understanding it should not be possible to move a closed work item. The work item was closed by the person who worked on it and should be stay after closing it. Only not completed work items should be able to move eg someone else will take over and complete the task.

Kind regards, Markus

Hi Markus,

reassigning closed work items should work. The phantom users are clearly
a bug. However, we removed the timebox view in favor to a "scheduling
time"-based presentation integrated into the iteration plan editor. This
new grouping mode should be available from M2 on.

Cheers,
MikeS

mschille wrote:
If a closed task (marked with green check mark) will be moved between
users phantoms are created. If the iteration plane is saved again the
phantoms disappear.

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (29.8k23035) | answered Jul 12 '07, 7:39 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
The main argument for modifying closed work items is the need to fix
errors in the work item state. The most basic error is when it is
incorrectly closed. Once one has the ability to re-open a workitem, I
believe that requiring someone to re-open the workitem to change its
properties becomes gratuitous (or at least, should be controlled by
process, and not hard-wired into the workitem engine).

mschille wrote:
Related to the moving of closed work items. You are right it is
possible to move closed work items but for us this behavior was
unexpected. From our understanding it should not be possible to move
a closed work item. The work item was closed by the person who worked
on it and should be stay after closing it. Only not completed work
items should be able to move eg someone else will take over and
complete the task.

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.