It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Ant task to associate an existing work item with a build?


Cliff Gardiner (92418) | asked Jan 28 '15, 7:52 a.m.
edited Jan 28 '15, 10:12 a.m. by Ralph Schoon (54.3k13641)
We have a hands-off build process that mandates a work item to record the build against, but following a successful build we have to manually click on 'Associate an existing work item' to tie the build result to the work item.  We have CLM 4.0.7 but I can see in the docs that this is also true for 5.0.2.

I would like to do this programmatically in the build file but the supplied Ant tasks don't provide this.  If anybody knows a method to do this I'd be delighted to hear, or if they have developed a custom Ant task that they'd be prepared to share.  My only other recourse is to request a product enhancement and that could take months or years, assuming it's accepted as 'a good thing to do'!

Can anybody help?

Accepted answer


permanent link
Ralph Schoon (54.3k13641) | answered Feb 27 '15, 4:20 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
I tested and realized I got the direction of the build links wrong. Here is the fixed version.
Ralph Schoon selected this answer as the correct answer

5 other answers



permanent link
Ralph Schoon (54.3k13641) | answered Jan 28 '15, 8:22 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
edited Jan 28 '15, 8:25 a.m.
Cliff,

I created a work item command line https://rsjazz.wordpress.com/2015/01/12/a-rtc-workitem-command-line/ that can do it. I am currently working on a next version that fixes some bugs and enhances the capabilities. The current version should at least allow you to create a work item including that link from the build result ID.

permanent link
Cliff Gardiner (92418) | answered Jan 28 '15, 9:54 a.m.
Thanks Ralph,

I'll have a look.  We don't need to create the work item, just the link but what you're describing should do the trick.

Comments
Ralph Schoon commented Jan 28 '15, 9:57 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

If you have the work item ID, you can modify the work item and create the link too.


permanent link
Cliff Gardiner (92418) | answered Feb 26 '15, 11:17 a.m.

Hi Ralph, this is great and very close to what I'm after.  However using link_reportAgainstBuild to link the build result to the work item creates in the work item a link type of 'Work items reported against this build' rather than 'Reported Against Builds', which is what I really want.  A further problem is that this link type does not appear in the Quick Information and there is no option I can find when editing the Quick Information to make it appear. 

Have I missed something, or do I need to get to grips with amending WCL?


Comments
Ralph Schoon commented Feb 26 '15, 2:13 p.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

What link type do you need? Can you provide a screenshot from the links tab and the overview tab? 


permanent link
Cliff Gardiner (92418) | answered Feb 27 '15, 4:29 a.m.
Many thanks Ralph.  There are download restrictions where I work but I'll try this as soon as I can get the code on site.

Comments
Ralph Schoon commented Feb 27 '15, 4:43 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

Thanks for helping with testing. I just can't get all kinks when testing myself.


permanent link
John Carew (134) | answered Jun 02 '17, 7:53 a.m.

Hi Cliff, Ralph is it possible to get a copy of the implementation you created for updating a specific workitem with a link from the build. So that as you execute the JBE ant script, the build links itself to the 'Reported Against Builds' of a specific work item.

Thanks.


Comments
Ralph Schoon commented Jun 03 '17, 10:51 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

For all I know you could use the work item commandl line, as already explained above.

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.