It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Displaying Notifications in RTC

Raza Abbas Syed (164) | asked Feb 12 '09, 10:12 p.m.
I'm a newbie to JAZZ and RTC and am currently exploring how to display a notification to the user on a particular event. I went through the tutorial https://jazz.net/wiki/bin/view/Main/FoundationNotifierTutorial

It tells me to "Use the com.ibm.team.foundation.rcp.core.notifier extension point" to "contribute" a notifier. What does that exactly mean? Do I create a new class extending that? Just a bit confused about where to start.

Thanks in Advance!

4 answers

permanent link
Work Item & UI Commons Team (1.3k1) | answered Feb 13 '09, 5:19 a.m.
To use the extension point you add it to the plugin.xml of your bundle after adding a dependency to com.ibm.team.foundation.rcp.core. When you add it, the editor asks you for a class that implements Notifier. This class would live in the same bundle and gets loaded in RTC automatically.

permanent link
Raza Abbas Syed (164) | answered Feb 14 '09, 11:16 a.m.
Thank you for your response.

I added two `extension` tags to the plugin.xml file as directed in the notifier tutorial. However, I fail to see any event types or event added to the `Windows > Preferences > Notifications` window.

Just to be sure, I extended the abstract Notifier class and wrote some code for the notify method. For eventcategory and eventtype tags in plugin.xml, although I specified their id just like I would for any class, I do not need to create a separate class for them right?

Just a bit confused regarding that. I'm pretty sure that the syntax of my plugin.xml is right since I used intellisense to write it all and I don't get any warnings/errors on it.

permanent link
Work Item & UI Commons Team (1.3k1) | answered Feb 16 '09, 4:23 a.m.
You need to use the extension point "Notification" in foundation.rcp.core to contribute a event category and type so that a user can enable a notification for this type.

permanent link