It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Issues with build engines in Eclipse.

Enrico Paolo Lelli (524) | asked Feb 18 '13, 11:25 a.m.
Hi all,
I'm trying to set up a continuous integration environment with RTC-Jazz-Eclipse but I'm failing somewhere and I broke the wall where I'm banging my head so...decided to look out for help :D
I'm pretty new to this topic so I might easily have missed some simple step but can't see it.
I'll describe what am I doing and hopefully someone will spot the error.
In Eclipse, in Team Artifatcs view I right click on Build and select New Build Definition.
I select the Team Area interested and Create a new build. I set ID= "SFC-CI definition" and as build template Command "Line - Jazz Build Engine", select the "Jazz Build Control" check and then finish.
When the build definition opens I click on Create under Suporting Build Engines, I set ID= "SFC-CI engine" and "Jazz Build Engine" as engine type.

So I have the following definition overview:
Definition overview

The following definition JSC: Definition Jazz Source Control

The following definition command line:
definition command line

And the  I have the following Engine where I have the problem you can see:
Engine

Whenever I try to request a build like this it remains pending.
build request

I tried to read in different forums about the warning in the build engine but what I understood is that it's linked to the Jazz server which should be running and is not. But then I read that using Eclipse this should be automatically invoked... to be honest I'm totally confused.

Could you please help me out and make me understand what's going on? I obviously lack some theory here but can't find anywhere a "build engines for dummies" XD

Thanks.

Accepted answer

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33646) | answered Feb 18 '13, 12:36 p.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
edited Feb 18 '13, 12:39 p.m.
Apparently there is no Jazz Build Engine running anywhere.