It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Anyone have material about the inner workings of how DOORS works?

Mario Didonna (611) | asked Dec 05 '14, 4:09 p.m.
Hi,
I'm a systems engineer starting up my first assignment in DOORS 9.5.2; I had a brief 4 day class on DOORS last year.

I have access to "getting started" material and tutorials, but I'm looking for material on how exactly DOORS works in terms of linking modules (SRS, test plan, SSS, SRD, etc), enacting rules between modules, updating a module based on changes to a different module, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments
Donald Nong commented Dec 07 '14, 9:28 p.m.

It sounds like you are after a design document, rather than a user manual.

2 answers

permanent link
Keith Collyer (456511) | answered Dec 10 '14, 11:57 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Hi Mario, what you are asking for seems simple, but to answer it we really need a clearer picture of what you really want. For example:
  • linking modules - you can link any module to any other, though you can (and should) impose controls on what is allowed. Are you asking for guidance on what sort of modules you should have and what links you need? In which case, it depends on what information you need to manage and you need an architecture workshop to determine that
  • enacting rules between modules - I don't know what you mean by this
  • updating a module based on changes to a different module. This sounds like you need to use suspect links.
Hope that helps. It's actually a very big topic, so if you could clarify that would help a lot.

Comments
Mario Didonna commented Dec 10 '14, 5:43 p.m.

Hi Keith, thank you for your reply.

For the purview of my assignment, I will be entering an SRS that needs to have columns for comments, component, test method, and entry type (header, req't or text). The SRS will eventually link to a "parent" SSS, and will have a "child" test plan (not sure if this will be an STP or not).

permanent link