Restricting access to work items

For each work item you can restrict read access so that only members of a specific project area or members of an access group can see the work item.

About this task

By default, read access for work items is determined by the following:
  1. Access control settings for the project area to which the work item belongs. A user who does not have access to the project area cannot access the work item. See Restricting read access to project areas for details. You cannot override this restriction.
  2. Restricted Access setting for the category against which the work item is filed. If the project administrator restricts access to a work item category, only members of the team area (and members of child team areas) that is associated with the work item category can access work items that are filed against that category.

For each work item, you can override the work item category restricted access setting and specify a different project area, an access group, or Public, which refers to all users in the repository. An access group can consist of project areas, team areas, and specific users. Users who have JazzAdmins repository group permissions can access restricted work items even if they are not members of the access group.

Procedure

  1. In the Work Item editor, click the dropdown arrow next to the work item number and select Restricted Access.
    Screen capture of work item dropdown menu with the Restricted Access menu option selected
    Alternatively, if your project administrator has added the Restricted Access presentation to the work item editor, you can select More from the Restricted Access field list.
    Screen capture of Restricted Access field on Overview tab of work item editor.
  2. In the Restricted Access Selection window:
    • Select Default to use the work item category restricted access settings defined in the project area to which the work item belongs.
    • Select Visibility defined by access context to override the default access setting. Then select an access group, other project area, or Public.
    Screen capture of Restricted Access Selection window.
  3. Click OK. Click Save to save your work item changes.

Results

After you restrict access to a work item to members of a project area or access group, users who are not members of the specified project area or access group cannot access the work item directly, and the work item is not shown in their query results.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki