Archiving and restoring configurations

You can archive streams and baselines that are no longer in use so that they are not shown in the list of configurations. Archiving a configuration does not delete it; configurations cannot be deleted. You can restore an archived configuration so that it is visible and available for use by you or other team members.

Before you begin

  • Ensure that you are logged in to a project.

About this task

Archiving a configuration removes it from the list of active configurations. It is common to archive a configuration when team members no longer work in it, or if the configuration is not a flow target for other configurations. You might archive a baseline that was created for a review, when the baseline is no longer required.

You cannot archive a baseline if another configuration has a dependency on it. You cannot archive a stream that is the flow target of another configuration.

Procedure

  1. On the toolbar of a lifecycle management product, click Administration Administration menu > Manage Configurations.
  2. To archive a configuration:
    1. Go to the configuration to archive, and in the Actions column, beside the configuration name, click Actions > Archive Archive. The configuration is no longer shown in the list.
    2. To display the archived configurations, on the toolbar near the upper right, click Show the archived configurations Archive. All configurations are displayed; archived configurations are disabled.
  3. To restore a configuration:
    1. In the configuration view, on the toolbar near the upper right, select Show the archived configurations Show the archived configurations. All configurations are listed; archived configurations are disabled.
    2. Find the configuration to restore, and from the Actions menu beside that configuration, select Restore Restore. You and other team members can now use the configuration.

Feedback