Resolving conflicts in file content

Content conflicts occur when a repository workspace contains two change sets that include different versions of one or more files. Conflicts can be automatically or manually resolved without loading content into the sandbox. This ability simplifies the conflict resolution workflow for cases where result verification is performed through automated builds.

Procedure

  1. In the Pending Changes view, navigate to the Unresolved folder of the component in which the conflict exists. This folder and the conflicting files it contains are overlaid with the Conflict overlay icon icon. (Nonconflicting files have already been added to your repository workspace.)
  2. Move your mouse over the name of a conflicting file to see hover help that identifies the type of conflict and suggests ways to resolve it.
  3. Optional: Configure a preference so that an attempt is made to automatically resolve conflicts on an accept or resume operation:
    1. From the main menu bar, click Window > Preferences.
    2. Expand the Team entry, expand Jazz Source Control, and click Changes.
    3. On the Changes page, select Automatically attempt to auto-resolve conflicts on accept and resume and click OK.
    Note: You can inspect the merge results after the accept action completes. Any merges that are not wanted can be undone.
  4. Right-click the conflicting file and choose a way to resolve the conflict.
    • To try to resolve the conflict by automatically merging the incoming file with the one in your workspace, right-click the file and click Auto Resolve. The Auto Resolve tool works by merging nonconflicting changes such as simple additions or removals (but not intra-line differences). If it does not work, a message states that you must resolve the conflicts manually.
    • To keep the incoming changes, click Resolve with proposed. This action discards your changes to the conflicted item.
    • To keep your sandbox version of the file that contains the conflicting change, click Resolve with mine.
    • To resolve the conflicts in the Eclipse Compare Editor, right-click the conflicted file and click Open in compare editor. In the Compare Editor, you can use the Copy all nonconflicting changes from right to left button to reduce the number of conflicts that you must review and resolve yourself. For more information about using the Compare Editor, see the Eclipse platform Help.
      Note: Engineering Workflow Management source control extends the Eclipse Compare Editor to include an Auto Resolve button and a Resolve as Merged button that you can click to indicate that you finished merging. In addition, the MIME type and line delimiter properties for the files are displayed if they are not the same for all versions being merged.
    • To undo the merge and have the file revert to the state before the merge was performed (preserving the changes and recreating the conflict), right-click the merged change; then, click Undo Merge.
    As an alternative to any of these choices, you can resolve a conflict by discarding the change set in your repository workspace that conflicts with the one you accepted. If the conflict is in an outgoing change set, find it in the Outgoing folder and discard it. Otherwise, use the History view to find the change set, right-click it, and click Discard.

Results

You are prompted to confirm your choice. After you do, the merge is finished, and the outgoing change set can be delivered.

Note:

This video is hosted on YouTube. You can download this video and others from the multimedia download site. The videos are listed by this naming convention: product_name_folder/product-code_version_title.


video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki