< Previous | Next >

Lesson 4: Explore setting permissions

In this lesson, you will learn how to set permissions for a specific role so that they apply to all team areas within the project area. You will then learn how to override a permission setting within a team area. Finally, you will learn how, as project administrator, you can prevent team leads from overriding a setting in their team areas.

About this task

The Team Member role that you assigned to Wilma in the previous lesson has permission to create all types of work items. You might want to prevent this role from creating some types of work items.

To customize permission settings:

Procedure

  1. While still in the Customization Tutorial Project (Change Management) project area, click Permissions. Click Show by Operation. Scroll to the Work Items category of operations. Expand Save Work Item > Create a work item > Create a work item of a specific type. Select Create a Epic work item. To prevent users with the Team Member role from creating Epic work items, click the Revoke Permission icon
    Revoke Permission icon
    in the Actions column.
    The Create a Epic work item action is selected. The Team Member role is selected and the Revoke Permission icon is shown being clicked in the Actions column.
  2. In addition to the role or roles that you assign to a member, all members have the default Everyone role. Permissions are additive, meaning that a member can perform an action if any of the roles assigned to that member permit the action. Because the Everyone role allows members to create Epic work items, to prevent members who have the Team Member role from creating Epic work items, you must also revoke permission for the Create a Epic work item action for the Everyone role. Select Everyone in the Roles list, then make the change in the Actions column. Click Save to save your changes to the project area.
  3. To see that the new setting is in effect, click User Profile menu icon, the User Profile menu icon and select Log Out. Log on as Wilma. From
    Home menu icon
    , the Home menu icon, select the Customization Tutorial Project (Change Management) project area. Click Work Items > Epic to create a work item of type Epic. Enter a name. Select the Admin UI category in the Filed Against field to associate the work item with the team area that Wilma belongs to. Click Save. You receive the following error message because you do not have permission to create an Epic work item:
    Error message that says You don’t have permission to perform the following actions: Create a Epic work item.
  4. Now you will override the permission setting in the team area. Log out. Click OK in the dialog that warns you that you have unsaved work item changes. Log on as Bert. Click Manage this Project Area from Administration menu icon, the Administration menu icon. In the Team Hierarchy section, click the Admin UI team team area. Click Permissions. Click the Team Member role. In the Permitted Actions section, expand Work Items. Select Save Work Item, which selects all of the child actions. Click Save.
  5. Log out. Log on as Wilma. From
    Home menu icon
    , select the Customization Tutorial Project (Change Management) project area. Click Work Items > Epic to create a work item of type Epic. Again select the Admin UI category in the Filed Against field. Click Save. Now you are allowed to save the work item.
  6. Finally, you will prevent team areas from overriding the permission setting. Log out. Log on as Bert. Navigate to the project area Permissions page. Click Show by Operation. Select the Save Work Item operation. In the Actions column for the Team Member role, click the Edit Operation Properties icon Edit Operation Properties icon. Select the Final (ignore customization of this operation in child areas) check box. Click Save.
    Screen capture of Permitted Actions section. For Save Work Item, Final (ignore customization of this operation in child areas) is selected.
    Note: Selecting Final (ignore customization of this operation in child areas) does not change the setting that is displayed for the operation in the team area; it still shows that the Team Member role can create an Epic work item even though the role cannot do that.
  7. Log out. Log on as Wilma. Try to create an Epic work item again and set the Filed Against field to Admin UI. This time you are not permitted to save the work item.

Results

Lesson checkpoint

In this lesson, you learned how to perform the following tasks:
  • Modify permissions for specific roles at the Team Configuration level so that they apply to all team areas in the project area.
  • Override a permission setting in a team area.
  • Prevent team areas from overriding the settings that you specify at the Team Configuration level.
< Previous | Next >

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki