Suspending change sets

To remove a change set from your repository workspace but keep it in the repository, you can suspend it. You can restore it whenever you want to resume your work.

Before you begin

Before you suspend a change set, you must check in or undo any unresolved changes to files in the change set.

About this task

You might need to begin working on a new change set before you are finished with one that is in progress in your workspace. In this situation, you can suspend the current change set, which removes it from your workspace but preserves it in the repository. The files in a suspended change set revert to the state they were in before the change set was started, and the change set is moved to the My Suspended Change Sets folder in the Team Artifacts tool window.

Procedure

  1. In the Pending Changes tool window, navigate to the change set in the Outgoing folder.
  2. To suspend the change set, right-click the change set and click Suspend. If you suspend a change set with some unresolved changes available in Unresolved, a confirmation dialog box is displayed. Click Check-in and Suspend to check in the changes to appropriate change sets and to move the change set to Suspended. Otherwise, click Suspend to discard the unchecked-in changes and move the change set to Suspended. The change set moves to the component's Suspended folder.
    Tip: To view change sets grouped by suspended work items, at the top of the Pending Changes window, click the arrow beside the search field; then click Show Suspended Work Items.
  3. Optional: If the changed file is already open, a dialog box is displayed. Click Yes to reload the file or click No if you do not want to reload the file.
    Note: To turn off the visibility of suspended change sets, in the Pending Changes window, click the filter icon Filter icon. In the Filter Pending Changes View window, click Predefined filters and then select the Hide suspended change sets check box.

What to do next

Right-click the change set in the Suspended folder to do the following operations:
  • Resume: Resumes the change set back to the Outgoing folder.
  • Expand Children: Expands the change set into folders.
  • Open in Change Explorer: Opens the change set in Change Explorer.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki