Configuring the auto clean option

Package definitions include an auto clean option that automatically deletes packages from the package root directory after you deploy the packages and mark them for removal.

About this task

Deleting a package by using the Auto clean option is a multistep process to ensure that you do not delete packages unintentionally or before they are deployed. First, you must successfully package and deploy a set of artifacts. Next, you must manually delete the successful package from the list of package results. Finally, you must run a subsequent packaging build with the Auto clean option selected. The Auto clean option deletes packages from the package root directory. Deleting a package from the list of package results removes the package from the list, but it does not delete the package from the root directory.
Note: A failed package is automatically removed from the package root directory even if you do not select the Auto clean option.

Procedure

  1. To run packaging builds with the Auto clean option, complete the following steps:
    1. From the Team Artifacts view, expand Enterprise Extensions > Packages.
    2. Right-click the package definition that you want to modify and select Open Package Definition.
    3. From the IBM i Packaging or z/OS Packaging tab of the Package Definition editor, go to the Options tab and select Auto clean. Click Save.
    4. From the Packages node, right-click the package definition again and select Show Package Results. The results list is displayed.
    5. Right-click a package that you want to delete and select Delete Build Result.
    6. From the Packages node, right-click the package definition again and select Create Package. Enter the appropriate package options and click Finish.
      Note: By default, the Auto clean action is delayed for 30 minutes after you delete the package from the list of package results. Unless you change the default settings, subsequent package requests do not delete the packages if the 30-minute delay has not lapsed.
  2. To change the length of the auto clean delay, complete the following steps:
    Note: You must have administrator access for your project area.
    1. Log in to the Administration page of the Change and Configuration Management application.
    2. In the Configuration section, click Advanced Properties. For details, see Configuring advanced properties.
    3. On the Advanced Properties page, go to the com.ibm.team.build.internal.service.delete.BuildResultPrunerTask in the build system section and click Edit.
    4. In the Current Value field of the Build Result Pruner Task Fixed Delay property, enter the amount of time you want to set for your delay in seconds. Click Save.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki