Adding allocation periods for a project

From your profile page, you can add allocation periods for the project that you belong to.

You can add or modify allocation periods from the Resources tab and from the Work Environment tab of your profile page. To add or modify allocation periods from the Work Environment tab, you must have certain permission. For more information about the permission to add or modify allocation period, see Permitting users to modify allocation. If you add or modify the allocation period of the resource from one tab, the changes are reflected in the other tab.

Remember:

This feature is available only if you are using the Formal Project Management process template.

Before you begin

If you use the Formal Project Management process template, by default you cannot add or modify allocation periods. To add or modify allocation periods, you must change your permissions in the project area editor. Also, you must be allocated to the project for which you want to add or modify periods.

Procedure

  1. In the upper, right corner of the web client, click your name, and then click View My Profile and Licenses.
  2. Click the Work Environment tab.
  3. In the Work Allocations section, the value in the Allocation field is set to a default amount, and the asterisk beside the iteration that is assigned a default work allocation indicates that the allocation has been assigned a default percentage. Default work allocation

    To change this, hover the mouse pointer over an iteration row and do the following actions:

    • To add an allocation period, in the Actions column, click the Create Work Allocation icon (Create Work Allocation).
    • To edit an allocation period, in the Actions column, click the Edit icon (Edit).
  4. In the Allocation field, specify the percentage of time that you want to be assigned to a team.
  5. Specify the start and end dates for which you can work on the project. If you do not want to provide the start and end dates for a resource, select Default Allocation. Your resource availability for that project will be infinite.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Click Save. Notice that the asterisk beside the allocation that you changed has disappeared.Work allocation edited

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki