Deleting and restoring lab management artifacts

When you delete an artifact, it is moved to the Trash page, but it is not permanently deleted from the database. From the Trash page, you can restore the artifacts or permanently delete the artifacts from the database.
Attention: Artifacts that are permanently deleted cannot be recovered. For more information, see Table 1. In some cases, you cannot restore artifacts that are moved to the Trash page, even if you do not permanently delete them. Before you delete an artifact, make sure that you understand the consequences of moving artifacts to the Trash page.

Required permissions to delete and restore artifacts

You must have certain permissions to delete and restore artifacts. You must have the Permanently Delete permission to permanently delete artifacts. To restore artifacts, you must have the Restore permission. For more information about the required permissions, see Quality Management role-based permissions.

Table 1. Important information about deleting artifacts
Artifact Type Notes about deletion (moving artifacts to the Trash page) Notes about restoration Notes about permanent deletion
Lab resource When a lab resource (machine or virtual image) is deleted from the Lab Resource table view, it is the moved to the Trash page.
Note: In version 6.0.4 and earlier, the deleted resources were listed in the Hidden and Deleted Lab Resources section. For more information, see Hiding lab resources.
You can restore a lab resource by using the restore operation. You can permanently delete a lab resource by using the delete operation.
Lab resource group When a lab resource group is deleted from the Lab Resources Group table view, it is moved to the Trash page. You can restore a lab resource group by using the restore operation. You can permanently delete a lab resource group by using the delete operation.
Request Lab resource reservation requests are managed through various states. You can automatically cleanup canceled or closed requests by running an asynchronous task that is defined by the Advanced Properties > TLM Component > DeleteInactiveRequestsTask.

By default, the task is disabled. To enable the task, Expiration Days value is set to a value greater than 0. This value indicates after how many days of inactivity the requests would be deleted.

Note: Requests with active reservations are not deleted. The requests are automatically deleted when the reservation period expires.
Canceled or closed requests can be opened up by various state level operations. Requests that are deleted through the asynchronous cleanup task are permanently deleted and cannot be restored. Requests are permanently deleted by the asynchronous task.
Reservation Reservations that expire or are fulfilled get automatically deleted. You can define the number of days for which the reservations are stored in the database by using the Advanced Properties > TLM Component > DeleteInactiveReservationsTask field.

Expired reservations are automatically deleted after the number of days that are defined in the field. If the value is less than 1, then deletion of reservation is disabled and expired reservation would still be part of the system.

Reservations that are deleted through the asynchronous cleanup task are permanently deleted and cannot be restored. Reservations are permanently deleted by the asynchronous task.
Test environment When a test environment is deleted from the Test Environment table view, it is moved to the Trash page. You can restore a test environment by using the restore operation. You can permanently delete a test environment by using the delete operation.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki