Locks in the Requirements Management (RM) application

Locks prevent multiple people from editing the same artifact at the same time. When you edit an artifact, it is automatically locked.
In the web client, a lock icon () is displayed in the editor toolbar while you edit. If you click Save, the artifact remains locked because it is still in editing mode. However, when you click Done, the artifact is unlocked and saved. Then the unlocked icon () is displayed on the artifact editor toolbar. When an artifact is locked, a lock icon is displayed next to the artifact on the Artifacts page. If an artifact is locked by another user, you can hover over the icon to see who locked the artifact.
Note: Users can add tags, comments, and links when an artifact is locked for editing, or manually locked.

Manual locks

If you have certain permissions, you can manually lock and unlock artifacts, including modules and collections. When you manually lock an artifact, it remains locked until you unlock it, even if you are not actively editing it. Manual locks can be useful for preventing other users from editing an artifact for an extended time. For more information about permissions, see “Permissions for requirements projects.”

Locks in configuration management

If you are working in a project that has been enabled for configuration management, and you lock an artifact (either manually or automatically), the artifact is only locked in the current stream.

Overriding locks

Just as you need certain permissions to manually lock artifacts, you need permission to override someone else's lock. You might override a lock when you must edit a locked artifact or when artifacts are locked by users who can no longer unlock them.
Warning: If you override a lock, you might cause save conflicts or prevent users from saving their work. The ability to override locks is primarily used to unlock an artifact when the user who locked the artifact cannot unlock it. If you are an administrator, grant permission to override locks sparingly.

Locked modules and collections

In a locked module or collection, you cannot add or remove artifacts unless you have permission to override locks. In addition, you cannot restructure the artifacts in a locked module. However, you might still be able to modify the artifacts that are in the module or collection. The ability to modify the artifacts is governed by the locks on the artifacts themselves.

Sorting and filtering artifacts by lock status

In the web client, you can create a filter or change the column settings to display lock information. For example, to create a filter that displays locked artifacts, on the Artifacts page, filter the artifacts by attribute, and then select the Locked by attribute.

Graphic of more attributes window
For more information about creating filters, see “Filtering requirement artifacts and creating views.”

In addition, you can change the columns in a view to display who locked an artifact or module and when it was locked.

Screen capture of artifacts with lock columns


video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki