Deleting sensitive data from components in QM

Remove sensitive data from, or scrub, Quality Management (QM) components to recover from data spills and to remove information that is now confidential but wasn't before, or to delete classified or proprietary data that shouldn't be revealed to a wider audience. The component is then renamed and archived, and you can restore it when you need it again. Its configurations are also archived.

Before you begin

  • A Quality Management (QM) project area administrator must enable configuration management for the project.
  • You must be a configuration lead or have permission to delete and scrub components.
  • If configurations of a component contain sensitive data, delete that data by editing the configuration properties:
    1. Click Administration Administration menu > Manage Components and Configurations.
    2. Click Streams near the left of the page, and from the Action menu beside a stream name in the list, click Stream Properties. Then, delete the sensitive data from the name and description and click OK.
    3. Click Baselines near the left of the page, and from the Action menu click Baseline Properties; delete the sensitive data and click OK.
  • If artifacts in configurations of the component contain sensitive data, consider permanently deleting those artifacts before you scrub the component. See the related topic.

About this task

You must scrub a QM component to ensure that sensitive data is removed from its history, even though the history is not shown. A QM configuration does not have a history, so you only have to edit its properties as described in the "Before you begin" section.

Remember:
  • Important: The Delete and Scrub command deletes (archives) and scrubs only the QM component you select. This command does not scrub the configurations of the component; it only archives them.

    If global configurations contain configurations of this QM component, ask a Global Configuration Management (GCM) administrator to search for sensitive data in global components and configurations. See the related topic.

    To check for and remove sensitive data in other IBM® Engineering Lifecycle Management (ELM) applications (Requirements Management (RM), Change and Configuration Management (CCM), and so on), ask a user with JazzAdmin repository privileges or other ELM project area administrators to use the tools in those applications. See the related topic about ELM security considerations.

  • You cannot recover the deleted information, and no copies of it are kept in the repository. For details about what is deleted, see the Results section of this topic.
  • Database backups and QM data outside the repository are not scrubbed. You must identify any such locations and decide whether to delete the data.

    For example, if your organization must ensure that no database backups contain sensitive data, you might decide to delete those backups. Then, after you scrub components in the project area, back up the database again. This approach helps ensure that sensitive data doesn't exist outside the repository, but limits the information you can restore.

You can't edit, report on, or search for archived components and configurations. You can't add archived configurations to global configurations. For details and steps to restore QM components and configurations, see the related topic.

Procedure

  1. Open a project from the All Projects view: https://example.com:9443/qm/web
  2. On the toolbar, click Administration Administration menu > Manage Components and Configurations. The Components page shows the list of components for the project you are working in.
  3. From the Action Menu beside a component name, click Delete and Scrub the Component.

Results

  • The component name, description, properties, and history are permanently deleted.
  • The component is renamed and deleted (archived). To find it, go to the Trash view. Typically, scrubbed components are named UUID _random_string. You also see when the component was deleted, and by whom.
  • The configurations of the component are archived.

    You can still see their full version history in the version tree, but they are annotated as archived.

  • Sensitive data is not removed from the configurations of the component. For details about removing it, see the Before you begin section in this topic.
  • Sensitive data is not removed from artifacts. See the related topic about permanently deleting artifacts.

What to do next

To resume work in a stream of the scrubbed component:
  1. Go to the Trash view and restore the component.
  2. Optional: Rename the component so that you can easily identify it. On the Components page, beside the name of the restored component, click Actions > Edit Component. Type a new name and optional description; then, click OK.
  3. Optional: Change the names of the configurations of this component so that you can easily identify them. See the steps in the Before you begin section of this topic.
  4. Switch to the configuration you want to work in. For example, to switch to a stream:
    1. Click Administration Administration menu > Manage Components and Configurations, and click Streams.
    2. From the Actions menu beside a stream name, click Switch to This Stream.
    Tip: You can also switch to the configuration by using the Current Project Component and Current Configuration menus on the toolbar.
If you didn't delete sensitive data from configurations or artifacts before scrubbing the component, and later you discover sensitive data:
  1. If you didn't already restore the component, restore it from the Trash view. The system also restores the configurations of the component.
  2. Configurations: to remove sensitive data, see the steps in the Before you begin section of this topic.
  3. Artifacts: see the related topic about permanently deleting artifacts.
  4. Optional: If you no longer need the component, delete (archive) it: from the Actions menu beside the component name, click Delete. You can restore it later if you need it.

To work in another project, select it from the Home menu Home menu or the All Projects view.

Ask a QM project area administrator to remove sensitive data from the QM application.


video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki