Archiving and restoring users

You can archive a new user and restore an archived user either through the Administration page of the Jazz™ Team Server or through the Administration page of an application registered with the Jazz Team Server. For each user that you add to the archive, a client access license is released. You will need to assign new client access licenses to users restored from the archive.

Before you begin

You must be logged in to the Administration page of the Jazz Team Server or the Administration page of an application registered with the Jazz Team Server. In either case, you must be a member of the JazzAdmins group to have administrative access to archive and restore users.

About this task

If a user is inactive and does not belong to a Team or Project area, they can be added to an archive. While archived users are not deleted from the repository, they cannot log on to the system with their assigned user name and password. If a user is permanently inactive and is part of a user registry, consider removing their credentials from the user registry.
Note: When you archive a user, you cannot use that user ID for another user.

Procedure

  1. Log in to the Administration page of the Jazz Team Server or an application registered with the server.
    • For the Jazz Team Server, point your web browser to https://[fully qualified hostname]:9443/jts/admin.
      Remember: The [fully qualified hostname] is the host name along with the DNS domain reference of the machine on which the Jazz Team Server is installed.
    • For an application registered with the server, point your web browser to https://[fully qualified hostname]:9443/[application]/admin to access the application, where [application] is ccm or qm.
  2. To archive a user:
    1. Click Users > Active Users.
    2. Hover over a user name and click the Archive icon in the Actions column. Click OK to confirm.
      If you used IBM® i user profile authentication and added or modified a user profile using CRTUSRPRF or CHGUSRPRF commands, you can delete the user profile using the DLTUSRPRF command if the user profile is not needed on the system. You can also modify the user profile to revert back to its previous role before it was added as a IBM Engineering Workflow Management user on IBM i. For example, if an existing user profile was changed to make it a part of a group profile to which a Jazz permission group is mapped, you can use CHGUSRPRF to remove the value or values for the Group profile (GRPPRF) parameter or Supplemental groups (SUPGRPPRF) parameter. If you used LDAP for authentication, you can remove the user from the LDAP groups to which you added the user.
  3. To restore a user from the archive:
    1. Click Users > Archived Users.
    2. Hover over a user name and click the Restore icon in the Actions column.
      If you are using IBM i authentication, and you removed or changed a user profile as described in step 3, you may need to revert back by creating the user profile or changing the user profile (or both) through the CRTUSRPRF or CHGUSRPRF commands. If you are using LDAP, and you removed the user from LDAP groups as described in step 3, you must add the user back to the LDAP groups. See Creating users to understand the tasks required for adding a user. Depending on which options you used for step 3, the tasks required for creating a user could determine the tasks required for unarchiving users.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki