Restricting read access to project areas or team areas

With a project area, you can control who has access to the project area, its team areas, and its artifacts, such as work items, iteration plans, builds, and files under source control.

Before you begin

You must be a member of either the JazzProjectAdmins group or the JazzAdmins group.

About this task

When you create a project area in the project area editor, the default access control setting grants access to members of the project area and its team areas. When you create a project area by using the Lifecycle Project Administration tool, the default access control setting grants access to all users.

Procedure

  1. In the Team Artifacts view, right-click a project area and select Open.
  2. Click the Access Control tab.
  3. Do one or more of the following actions:
    • To grant access to all users, select Everyone.
    • To deny access to everyone except repository administrators, select No one (repository administrators only).
    • To grant access to all users who are members of the project area or one of its team areas, select Members of the project area hierarchy.
    • To grant access to all users who are members of the project area or one of its team areas, plus an additional set of users, select Members of the project area hierarchy and users in the access list below. In the Manage Access List section, click Add Access. Select the users to whom you want to grant read access. The user names appear in the Pending changes section.
    • To grant access to a specific set of users, select Users in the access list only. In the Manage Access List section, click Add Access. Select the users to whom you want to grant read access. The user names appear in the Pending changes section.
    • To see all users who currently have read access, leave the Browse Access List field blank and click Search. To see if a specific user has read access, enter the user name in the Browse Access List field and click Search.
    • To revoke read access for a specific user, click Remove Access and select the user.
  4. Click Save to save your changes. None of the access changes takes effect until you save the project area.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki