Restricting access to work item categories

You can configure each work item category to be visible to only members of the corresponding team area. You can also configure each category so that work items filed against the category are accessible to only members of the associated team area.

Before you begin

You must have permission to modify a work item category.

Procedure

  1. In the Team Artifacts view, right-click a project area and select Open.
  2. Click the Work Item Categories tab.
  3. To set a category to be visible only to members of the team area associated with that category, clear the check box in the Visibility column of the category row. To set a category to be accessible only to members of the team that owns the category, right-click the category and select Restrict Work Item Access to All Teams. A check box is displayed in the Restrict Work Item Access column of the category row.
  4. Click Save.

Results

If Restrict Category Visibility is selected, only users who are members of the team area that is associated with that category can see that category in the list of values in the Filed Against field.

If Restrict Work Item Access is selected, only users who are members of the team area that is associated with that category can submit work items against that category, or access work items that have been submitted against that category.


video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki