Making a project area shareable

After you create a project area, you can modify it to make its process available to other project areas.

Before you begin

You must have permission to modify the project area.

About this task

Tip: It is a good practice to avoid using the sharing project area as a production project area. The sole purpose of the sharing project area should be to provide process for the consuming project areas. If you store production data, such as work items and plans, in the sharing project area, you might need to customize that project area in ways that make it difficult for consumer project areas to re-use the process.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to the project area in the administrative web interface. See Logging in for project administrators and team leads (web).
  2. From within the project area, in the Process Sharing section, select Allow other project areas to use this project area's process. A message displays reminding you that sharing the project area makes it visible to anyone, regardless of the access control setting for the project area, and asks whether you want to continue.
  3. Click OK.
  4. Click Save to save the project area.

Results

Other users can now modify their project areas so that they use the process from this project area.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki