Customizing permissions for a specific time period

By default, the permissions that you set in the project area apply for all time periods. However, you can customize permissions settings so that they apply only for a specific timeline, iteration, or iteration type.

Before you begin

To complete this task, you must have permission to modify the project area.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to the project area in the administrative web interface. See Logging in for project administrators and team leads (web).
  2. In the project area, click Permissions. The default view is Show by Role.
  3. In the Select a role pane, select a role for which you want to modify permissions.
  4. Click the Configure for a time period Configure for a time period icon icon. If you previously customized permissions for a time period, the Select a time period pane is displayed instead of Configure for a time period.
  5. Select a timeline, iteration type (if any exist), or iteration for which you want to customize permission settings. Permissions at the timeline level apply to all team areas in the timeline. Permissions that are set for an iteration type apply to all iterations of that iteration type. Permissions at the iteration level apply to all team areas in the iteration's timeline when the iteration is the current iteration. In the following figure, the Release 1.0 iteration in the Main Development timeline is selected.
    Screen capture of Select a time period box. Under Timelines, the Main Development timeline entry is expanded to show the Release 1.0 iteration, which is selected.
  6. In the Permissions for role during time-period section, select the operation or action whose permissions you want to customize. The Permission column for all operations and actions shows the Inherited from parent icon Inherited from parent icon.
  7. In the Actions column for the operation or action, click the Customize icon Customize icon. The Customize Permissions window opens and shows the settings that the time period inherits from its nearest parent. Use the Grant Permission icon Grant Permission icon and the Revoke Permission icon Revoke Permission to set the desired permissions. When you are done, click OK.
    Screen capture of Customize Permissions window for Save Team Dashboard operation. The permission settings for the operation and its three actions are all set to Grant Permission.
  8. To clear the customization for an operation, click the Inherit permissions from project area (Clear Override) icon Inherit permissions from project area (Clear Override) icon.
  9. Optional: To set the text that is shown when permission to perform an operation is denied, click the Edit Operation Properties icon Edit Operation Properties icon in the Actions column for the operation. Enter the explanation text in the Show explanation when permission is denied field. The Edit Operation Properties icon is available only after you click the Customize icon.
  10. Optional: To prevent a child team area from overriding the permission setting for an operation, click the Edit Operation Properties icon in the Actions column for the operation. Then select Final (ignore customization of this operation in child areas). The Edit Operation Properties icon is available only after you click the Customize icon.
  11. To save your changes, click Save.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki