Customizing permissions in a team area

By default, a team area inherits permission settings from its parent team area or project area. However, you can customize permission settings in a team area.

Before you begin

To complete this task, you must have permission to modify a team area.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to the project area to which the team area belongs in the administrative web interface. See Logging in for project administrators and team leads (web).
  2. In the Team Area Hierarchy section, navigate to the team area.
  3. Click Permissions. The default view is Show by Role.
  4. In the Select a role pane, select a role for which to modify permissions.
  5. In the Permissions for role section, select the operation or action whose permissions you want to customize. The Permission column for all operations and actions shows the Inherited from parent icon Inherited from parent icon.
  6. In the Actions column for the operation or action, click the Customize icon Customize icon. The Customize Permissions window opens and shows the settings that the team area inherits from its nearest parent. Use the Grant Permission icon Grant Permission icon and the Revoke Permission icon Revoke Permission to set the desired permissions. When you are done, click OK.
    Screen capture of Customize Permissions window for Save Team Dashboard operation. The permission settings for the operation and its three actions are all set to Grant Permission.
  7. To clear the customization for an operation, click the Inherit permissions from parent area (Clear Override) icon Inherit permissions from parent area (Clear Override) icon.
  8. Optional: To set the text that is shown when permission to perform an operation is denied, click the Edit Operation Properties icon Edit Operation Properties icon in the Actions column for the operation. Enter the explanation text in the Show explanation when permission is denied field. The Edit Operation Properties icon is available only after you click the Customize icon.
  9. Optional: To prevent a child team area from overriding the permission setting for an operation, click the Edit Operation Properties icon in the Actions column for the operation. Then select Final (ignore customization of this operation in child areas). The Edit Operation Properties icon is available only after you click the Customize icon.
  10. To save your changes, click Save.

video icon Video

Jazz.net channel
Software Education channel

learn icon Courses

IoT Academy
Skills Gateway

ask icon Community

Jazz.net
Jazz.net forums
Jazz.net library

support icon Support

IBM Support Community
Deployment wiki