When deleting a stream, what does "Create a backup snapshot associated to a workspace" do?
When deleting a stream, a dialog is shown asking me whether I would like to "Create a backup snapshot associated to a workspace" or "Just delete the stream (content cannot be recovered)".
What I would ideally like to do is delete a number of streams after merging the latest code on each to a single new stream and creating a snapshot after each merge and I'm wondering whether this does what I want. If so, how do I use it and where (if anywhere) can I find it documented?
Many thanks,
Simon.
What I would ideally like to do is delete a number of streams after merging the latest code on each to a single new stream and creating a snapshot after each merge and I'm wondering whether this does what I want. If so, how do I use it and where (if anywhere) can I find it documented?
Many thanks,
Simon.
One answer
Simon,
it creates a snapshot that is associated to a workspace. The snapshot is a baseline across all components in the stream and basically allows you to create a workspace or a stream from the snapshot that resembles the content of the stream that you are about to delete. So in case you figure later you shouldn't have deleted the stream, you could get it back from the snapshot.
it creates a snapshot that is associated to a workspace. The snapshot is a baseline across all components in the stream and basically allows you to create a workspace or a stream from the snapshot that resembles the content of the stream that you are about to delete. So in case you figure later you shouldn't have deleted the stream, you could get it back from the snapshot.