It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to automatically assign categories (filed_against attribute) to work item ?

Gilles Trautmann (3634) | asked Nov 08 '12, 10:34 a.m.
retagged Nov 08 '12, 8:00 p.m. by Millard Ellingsworth (2.5k12431)
Hi all,

I am new to RTC (3.0.1.1) and I am currently trying to build a new Project Area.

In this project area we have two team areas and one work item category for each team area.

Categories are listed as follows

Unassigned <Root Category>
  L   London
  L   Paris

London is associated with London Team area and Paris is associated with ParisTeam area.

When I create a new work item, depending on the user and the team area he belongs to, I would like to have the work item filed against the right category.
However it is always filed under "Unassigned" which is the top level category (associated with the Projet Area).

Is there a way to avoid that ?

Thank you very much

Accepted answer

permanent link
Gilles Trautmann (3634) | answered Jan 15 '13, 10:07 a.m.
Here it is.

This is a "Validator" script.
You need to assign it to the attribute you want the retrieve the UUID and you will get the info in the "Error Log" view.

Tell me if that helped :)
And good luck

Script :

dojo.provide("Validator.Util");

dojo.require("com.ibm.team.workitem.api.common.WorkItemAttributes");

(function() {

dojo.declare("Validator.Util", null, {

validate: function(attribute, workItem, configuration) {
            console.log("ATTRIBUTE : " + attribute);
            var value = workItem.getValue(attribute);
            console.log("VALUE : " + value);
            return Status.OK_STATUS;
        }
    });
})();

Ralph Schoon selected this answer as the correct answer

5 other answers

permanent link
Vikas Kumar (132) | answered Feb 10 '21, 10:48 p.m.

@Jean-Michel Athane, how did you get the UUID of "Filed Against" values?

Thanks.

Comments
Ralph Schoon commented Feb 11 '21, 3:00 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER