It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How may I obtain the RQM REST API and related User Guide? I'm struggling with limited RQM reporting capabilities.

John Scarpelli (46257) | asked Jun 27 '12, 10:29 a.m.
We are running version 3.0.1.2 of RQM and are having great difficulty trying to extract (e.g., to an Excel spreadsheet) what we consider to be very basic and essential data for reporting purposes.  Namely, Test Case information (Test Case ID/Name/Description, Test Case Execution Status, and related requirements - traces to requirements in ReqPro).  I have learned the RQM REST API may be a viable solution to extracting such information since there is no apparent way via the RQM application itself.  That being the case, I cannot seem to find how to obtain the API.  I have extensive experience using the ReqPro API, but that was in conjunction with the ReqPro client application, and it's my understanding there is no client version of RQM (Web application only).  So I am also struggling with what the vehicle would be for actually utilizing the RQM REST API.  For example, are there DLLs which may be linked into Visual Basic modules??  Is there a User's Guide for the API??  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

John Scarpelli / CSC Corporation

6 answers

permanent link
John Scarpelli (46257) | answered Jun 29 '12, 9:43 a.m.
Thanks again Mark.  Our administrator is currently on vacation.  I'm hoping we can upgrade to v4.0 as that sounds like it may fill our reporting gaps.  In short, our goal is to produce a report (csv or Excel extract) which contains, at a minimum, the following information (if 2 reports are required, that's fine too as long as the minimal information is present):

1) Test Case Name (or ID as we refer to it...NOT the arbitrary RQM ID).
2) Test Case Description (or shortname)
3) Test Case Execution Status (Not Executed, Passed, Failed)
4) Related Requirements (i.e., traceability to ReqPro requirements by ReqPro Tag)