It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Installation is really 1.37GB... zipped?

Sarah Huntington (111) | asked Oct 12 '11, 6:28 p.m.
I'm new to Concert, so please bear with me. I'm installing, which doesn't seem to work with my firewall, so I chose the "offline" installation option, and... seriously? This thing is 1.37 GB? Zipped??? I understand that multiple rational products are bundled into a common install, but... why? I really just want to install Concert. So far the installation has required me to:
1. Create a jazz acount.
2. Download the web-based installer, which failed.
3. Download this 1.37GB behemoth
... and I have not even gotten to the actual installation proper.
Surely I am doing something wrong? Advice?

2 answers

permanent link
Jan Harris (5665) | answered Nov 24 '11, 2:17 a.m.
I'm new to Concert, so please bear with me. I'm installing, which doesn't seem to work with my firewall, so I chose the "offline" installation option, and... seriously? This thing is 1.37 GB? Zipped??? I understand that multiple rational products are bundled into a common install, but... why? I really just want to install Concert. So far the installation has required me to:
1. Create a jazz acount.
2. Download the web-based installer, which failed.
3. Download this 1.37GB behemoth
... and I have not even gotten to the actual installation proper.
Surely I am doing something wrong? Advice?

Sarah I'm not sure what you are installing on...but I'm trying to upgrade 3.0.1 to 3.0.1.1 on AIX . Since I don't have a local Xserver, I rely on vnc, and cannot get Firefox to display correctly on that Xserver, so had to download that 1.38G file to a WINDOWS system, to then ftp to AIX server. So far, I've had three attempts, taking most of the evening, and it says it is complete, however is less than a gig in size, and is corrupt each time.