It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Attribute data type POST/PUT/GET in DNG as ADMIN with REST and python

durga sankar (137) | asked Jun 30 '22, 3:12 a.m.
edited Jun 30 '22, 3:58 a.m.

I am trying to write a script for DNG ( me as new user), i have admin access and this script is to do below,

1. Create new attribute data type if not present.
  2. Update data type values if data type existing
i am trying to search the template where i can post or put to create or update the data type. but unable to get it.
i am following rootservices-->catalog-->service.xml. But unable to identify any possibility as i am new to it.

Can anyone please guide me how to find links and how to create and update the attribute data type in DNG with REST python. 
i know how to implement with python, if anyone can give me some guide on how to find APIs and how to GET the schema(XML) and how to push with Headers( i got one header which i don't know what value to give "net.jazz.jfs.owning-context"). 

Please give some guidance how to find proper address to push and do get and put for attribute data type in DNG.

3 answers

permanent link
Bhagath P B (3888) | answered Jun 30 '22, 3:20 a.m.

Hi Durga,

Please refer the general GET, PUT examples in the below documentation.
I am not aware as how this could be implemented using Python

Comments
durga sankar commented Jun 30 '22, 3:22 a.m.

i know how to implement using python , i just need how to get the api links and xml schema. where to push the xml schema so it will be created.  or updated. 

permanent link
Steven Wallace (336) | answered Jul 12 '22, 12:18 p.m.
edited Jul 12 '22, 12:56 p.m.
Durga,

I've used the following to update one.
PUT:  <base-url>/rm/types/<external_id>

Make sure to include the following in the header:
Content-Type
OSLC-Core-Version
If-Match (eTag)

I've never created one though.

-- Steve

Comments
durga sankar commented Jul 14 '22, 6:42 a.m.

so, i need to do a get first to verify it's there or not,