It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Find Child Streams of a Parent Stream using GC-Libraries in java

Jitesh Saha (179) | asked Oct 01 '20, 6:47 a.m.
I have a usecase where I need to find a stream by it's ID and also find the Child streams of thet queried stream. All this using existing APIs or GC-Libraries in java.

but I couldn't find my scenario. 

I'm new to the domain. Perhaps I'm looking into the wrong place.

If such java libraries exist , where can I find them and some references on this.

One answer

permanent link
Nick Crossley (1463) | answered Oct 01 '20, 10:04 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER

Jitesh,

Could you please clarify what you mean by 'child streams'? There are two quite different relationships that often use this same term.

First, there is the relationship between a global configuration and a configuration (global or local) contributed to it. For example, if I have a global stream GS1, and there is a DOORS Next requirements stream RS2 that contributes to GS1, some people say that RS2 is a child of GS1.

Second, there is a derivation relationship within the application that owns configurations. For example, if in DOORS Next you have a requirements stream RS2, and a baseline of that stream called RB2, and you then create a stream RS3 from RB2, then some people say that RS3 is a child of RB2, which in turn is a child of RS2.

Personally, I try not to use of parent/child terminology for relationships between configurations so that I can avoid this ambiguity.

To answer your original questions:

To query for a specific GC by its numeric ID, you would use the query capability defined at https://jazz.net/sandbox01-gc/doc/scenario?id=QueryConfigurations, and query for oslc:shortId.