It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Putting Eclipse-like workspace under RTC source control

Giovanni Cenni (111) | asked Jul 25 '19, 3:42 a.m.

Hello everybody,

I'm pretty new to RTC in general, so please bear with me :)

I have various projects developed in an IDE based on Eclipse(but not Eclipse itself), which I have put under RTC version control. A simplified version of the situation is as follows:

COMPONENT1

eclipse_project1.1

eclipse_project1.2

COMPONENT2

eclipse_project2.1

eclipse_project2.2

The idea we are following is to create a workspace associated to every RTC component, so that when a developer wants to work on the component he/she just has to checkout the component and open the corresponding folder as an Eclipse workspace.

But.... by doing so all the metadata associated to the workspace has ended up on RTC source control as well, and i am already starting to see the problem with this:

1) every time i open the workspace, some of the metadata is updated, adding noise to the changes detected

2) when another developer opens it..... there are conflicts on that metadata

What do i have to change? Should i just put some of the metadata under the ignore list and i'm set? Or is this approach inherently wrong?

Thanks in advance!

3 answers

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.1k33035) | answered Jul 26 '19, 11:42 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
edited Jul 26 '19, 11:43 a.m.
Note: This is a comment on Arun's answer, but it is too long to store as a "comment".

One point to clarify is that the development stream (and each repository workspace) contains all the components that are needed for a given product, not just one component.