It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How do I create a follow-up action to calculate total estimated hours on child tasks when the parent story is saved?

Ryan McBryde (5711130) | asked Oct 20 '16, 5:54 p.m.
RTC version 6.0.1

I would like to create a follow-up action for a User Story that will read the estimated hours for all child tasks and populate the Estimate attribute on the Story when it is saved; or a task is added, removed, or modified.  It needs to work with both the web and Eclipse clients. I assume that means that this is a server side extension.  True?

Based on the research so far, it would appear that it calls for writing an extension and then

I have reviewed "Rational Team Concert Extensions Workshop" but it's not clear how to proceed.I have also reviewed the link @ https://jazz.net/wiki/bin/view/Main/PreconditionFollowupCreation

Do I need to use the Plug-in Development Environment (PDE) to do this?  I am not a Java developer but am willing to learn as much as I need to to implement this solution.  I just need some direction.

Thanks in advance

Accepted answer

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33645) | answered Oct 21 '16, 2:11 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
edited Oct 21 '16, 2:14 a.m.
Start with this: https://rsjazz.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/rtc-update-parent-duration-estimation-and-effort-participant/

Your other assumptions and statements are correct.
Ryan McBryde selected this answer as the correct answer

Comments
Ryan McBryde commented Oct 21 '16, 2:05 p.m.

Thanks Ralph,

I had bookmarked that site a year or so ago and then the work effort had been abandoned and now I am with a new client and they want to do the same thing.  
So THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

I will jump into the deep end and slog my way thru!

Does this apply to Version 6.0 as well?

Ralph Schoon commented Nov 08 '16, 11:25 a.m. | edited Nov 08 '16, 11:27 a.m.

Sorry, did not see this.