It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Difference between Actively managed with Design Manager and Managed externally using import definition

Deepali Deshmukh (8913759) | asked Sep 28 '16, 3:22 a.m.
edited Sep 28 '16, 3:26 a.m.
Hi All,

I am new to design manager. I have my models in matlab and need to import them to DM 6.0.2. I have a project area in DM which is Actively managed. What is the major difference in Data Management modes Managed externally using import definition and Actively managed with Design Manager. In what ways is Actively managed with Design Manager better than the other. Can anyone help me with the links or documents with some use-cases on Actively managed feature. I have browsed the below links, but need more depth knowledge.
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSB2MU_8.1.3/com.ibm.dm.rhap.client.doc/topics/t_dm_create_domain_profile.html
https://jazz.net/help-dev/dm/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.dm.rhp.simulink.doc%2Ftopics%2Fc_rhp_dm_simulink_overview.html

Regards,
Deepali Nigade

One answer

permanent link
Pritesh Patel (12246) | answered Sep 29 '16, 7:34 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
 Hi Deepali,

The main difference between an externally managed and actively managed project is the persistency of the models (e.g.  the Matlab models). By persistency, I am referring to how the model will be managed using a source control system. 

I suspect that if you have matlab model, then you can only use the externally managed mode. Rhapsody models can reside in a actively or externally managed project. 

For Actively Managed projects, the Configuration Management of the models is performed by Design Manager (VVC based), where models are modified and saved directly from Rhapsody Client on the Design Manager server. You can use the Rhapsody client to Create the model on the DM server or move the model to the DM server from the Rhapsody client.