It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Multiple components in a single Visual Studio solution

Jonathan Byrne (2121) | asked Aug 19 '09, 2:25 p.m.
Im new to Jazz so I apologize if my terminology is incorrect. I want have a single Visual Studio solution that has multiple FTC components. Yes, these really are separate components and yes, I realize that a lot of people would not consider it appropriate to have them in the same solution. However, unit testing only takes you so far and it makes it much easier to debug issues if you have all components in the same solution.

So far I have only figured out a hack to do this. Below is a detailed description of how I got it to work. I was hoping there would be an easier way to do this.

1) Create a directory on my computer that will contain all parts of the solution. (C:\Development\MySolution)
    2) Create a subfolder for a single FTC component. (C:\Development\MySolution\MyComponent1)
    3) Create a solution for that component. (C:\Development\MySolution\MyComponent1\MyComponent1.sln)
    4) Add the project(s) to that component solution (C:\Development\MySolution\MyComponent1\MyProject1\MyProject1.csproj)
    5) Use Share Project(s) in Jazz in Visual Studio to add the solution and projects to FTC.
    6) Check in the solution and accept the pending changes.
    7) Repeat steps three to six for each component I want in my big solution.
    8) Create a sub directory for my big solution. (C:\Development\MySolution\Solution)
    9) Create my big solution. (C:\Development\MySolution\Solution\MySolution.sln)
    10) Use Share Project(s) in Jazz in Visual Studio to add the solution to FTC.
    11) Add each of the projects to my big solution.
    12) Check in the big solution and accept the pending changes.

Here are a few problems I ran into that made me go down that convoluted path: