It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Loss of change sets in secondary stream

Tiago Portolon (638) | asked Mar 14 '16, 2:48 p.m.
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Jazz platform and I'm practicing to educate myself on version control (Source Control Management).

I'm facing a problem with streams.
I created a secondary stream, which has the main stream as its flow target. As I deliver change sets to the secondary stream, they still visible via Jazz SCM and via Rhapsody. After I deliver the change sets from de secondary stream to the main stream, these change sets get lost.
I looks like the Jazz server show a reference to a change set that doesn't exist anymore.
I noticed that any change set delivered directly to the main stream stays visible, with no problem.

How can I fix this?

Thanks in advance,

Portolon

3 answers

permanent link
Tiago Portolon (638) | answered Mar 17 '16, 5:12 p.m.
To make things clearer, I posted another question with a more detailed description of the context, where this and other errors occur:

https://jazz.net/forum/questions/218613/learning-about-lifecycle-projects-in-jazz-scm

Thanks for the answers.

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33645) | answered Mar 15 '16, 7:53 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
Several points to mention here:

1. You usually flow changes between a stream and a repository workspace. If there are conflicting changes, you must use a repository workspace to resolve them. You can think of a stream as something similar to a branch - a specific configuration of content.
2. You can only deliver from one stream to another if there are no conflicting changes, in which case the changes end in the other stream.

The changes should not be lost. You should be able to see them in the history still. The description of what you do is not detailed enough to understand what could be happening. Consider reading

https://jazz.net/library/article/539
https://jazz.net/library/article/126

Comments