It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Report Studio Reports with Parent / Child Work Items

Mike Leipe (346) | asked Jan 14 '15, 10:09 a.m.
I hope I'm asking the right place for this one.  I did some Googling without much luck as the question is a hard one to ask of a search engine.  I'm fairly new to RRDI and currently find myself stuck on a couple of problems with a report I'm trying to write.

Background:

We have a highly-customized RTC-based bug reporting system.  At the top level we have PR work items, which report problems, and a PR can have multiple CR work items, which request code changes, as children.

The PR contains a "Found In" field and the CR contains a "Planned For" field.

I'm attempting to create a report in RRDI / Report Studio that contains all PRs that have "Found In" set to a certain release or that have child CRs that have their "Planned For" fields set to this same release.

I want to create a summary column chart that graphically depicts the number of such PRs that were opened per week along a timeline, plus a table that lists all of these PRs with specific details of both the PRs and their child CRs.

I'm capturing the parent / child relationships and work items using:

A) a list of PRs, filtered on Request Type
B) a list of Request Relational Links, filtered on the "parentworkworkitem" link type
C) a join between A & B above
D) a list of CRs, filtered on Request Type
E) a join between C & D above

Issue #1:

This gives me a list of all PRs with their child CRs, and this is where my first problem arises:  This implicitly (and understandably filters out all PRs that do not have children!  Recall my goal - I want to include in my report output:
  • all PRs that are "Found In" a given release, regardless of whether they have child CRs or not, and
  • all PRs that have child CRs that are "Planned For" the same release, regardless of what the PR was "Found In"