It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to configure an attribute customized to be required in the DOORs next Generation?

Danusa Ribeiro (859) | asked Nov 19 '14, 9:52 a.m.
Hi guys,
I need a help with Rational DOORs Next Generation. I have two questions:

Question 1: How can I make an attribute customized be required on the moment at creation of the artifact?
Question 2: How can I show the attribute customized in the pop-up in te momento at creation of the artifact?

I followed some steps described below:

1. I created a artifact types called Functional Requirement and I clicked on Add Attribute, in this case, called Priority.
  2. I clicked on Artifact menu and created a Functional Requirement artifac
In this picture, I'm simulating how I wanna the pop-up.

Thanks!!!

Comments
Keith Collyer commented Nov 24 '14, 9:17 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER

Three comments:

1. It may be possible to do this to some extent with scripting. I'm not an expert so I couldn't say for sure or how it would be done, but there are already example scripts that check the consistency of attribute values and set them appropriately.
  2. In the past, we have found that customers who think they want this don't get the benefit that they think they will. When forced to enter a value, people will, but it may not be of any real meaning. It isn't always possible to set specific values at the time the artifact is created. Your example of priority is a good one. Often you need to enter the requirement, but may not know exactly what the requirement is. So you give it an arbitrary value (usually, knowing the way people work, give it the highest possible value). Indeed, the person entering the requirement may not be the right one to set the priority
  3. Probably best to just set a default value - and make it low

Accepted answer

permanent link
Bas Bekker (1.4k4) | answered Nov 19 '14, 2:24 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER