It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Generating RPE Documents from within RM

Alastair Beadle (19411218) | asked Jan 20 '14, 12:04 p.m.

Hi all,

I am new to CLM, but experienced with DOORS and generating RPE documents from DOORS.

I have a CLM 4.0.5 installation and am trying to create some RPE templates and generate reports with them from RM data.

Working through the manual (specifically this section: Creating a Document Style Report...), I can generate reports from RM data using RPE launcher and specifying the data source in a specification file.

But when I copy the template accross to the CLM server (according to this section of the manual: Making Document Style Reports Avaialble to Viewers) I get an authorisation error each time I try to run it (specifically I get CRRPE3011E IBM Rational Pulishign Enginer Error, com.ibm.rational.rpe.common.auth.AuthenticationException).

I was assuming that CLM would manage the link with the source data and authorisation (i.e. the report is being run from module xyz by user abc so that is the required source data and authorisation) and that I would not need to change the template - but that does not seem to be the case. Looking at the built-in templates they seem to access the data through variables that start with an underscore (e.g. _baselineURI, _moduleURI etc).

If I copy one of these built-in  templates and modify it, it all works fine - so my setup seems OK. But I don't know where these special variables come from or where they are documented. I would like to understand how this works before using it as the basis of our system but it doesn't seem to be described anywhere in the manual (unless it is this section but it is very brief and I dont understand what it is telling me: Configuring Meta Data In...).

Is there any documentaton about how to make an RPE template suitable for running from within CLM?

Thanks,

Ali

One answer

permanent link
Robin Bater (3.4k47) | answered Jan 20 '14, 12:53 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER