It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How is SIPOC (Supplier-Input-Process-Output-Customer) concept implemented in Jazz/ RTC?

Kiran Thomas (111) | asked Jan 11 '14, 12:25 p.m.
 Hi.

I am new to Jazz and RTC.  So, please forgive me for the slightly lengthy, and maybe basic, nature of this note.

Firstly, let me state that I am very keen to use Jazz/RTC in a live project, having read and seen glowing tributes to its rich history, capabilities and successes.  

For the past month or so, I have been struggling with a conceptual question regarding process flows, for which I am not able to find a clear answer in the documentation on RTC/Jazz, nor in the various documentation/videos in the public domain, nor from some "experts" that I have been interacting with during this time.

RTC is stated to enable disciplined software development process via automation.  Further, it is stated that there are pre-built process templates (COTS, agile, etc) available and customizable as per the needs of a project.

A process flow to me is a sequence of SIPOCS, i.e. Some "supplier(s)" providing pre-defined "inputs" for processing by the "process step" which is performed by a "process role" which produces "outputs" to be delivered to "customer(s)" of the process step; the sequence repeating until the end-to-end flow is complete.

In the software domain, for example (assuming a traditional formal process method, which is what I am envisaging this tool for - in fact for a multi-COTS based implementation over 4-5 releases), this chain could be (I am simplifying things a bit....)

1. End user giving requirements
2. Business Analysts elaborating it and producing a formal set of signed off user requirements
3. Solution Architects developing high-level solutions and designs that map to the various systems/ sub-systems, including the interfaces etc.
4. Sub-system architects creating detailed low-level  designs that correspond to their respective sections in the High-level design