It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Components confusion

Matt Dempsey (122) | asked Jan 08 '14, 3:41 p.m.
 Hello,

I'm relatively new to Jazz and I'm having a hard time grasping what a component is.  Can somebody give me a simple explanation with an example or two?  And why would you need more than one component?  I work on a small team of 3 and we have one vb.net solution with 5 projects.  This solution was added to the default component, but I'm not sure what a component's use is.

Thanks for the help!

Comments
Matt Dempsey commented Jan 09 '14, 2:13 p.m. | edited Jan 15 '14, 5:05 a.m.

Thank  you everyone for your answers.  They are helpful.  Does anyone have an example of real world situation where you would have more than one component in a stream?

3 answers

permanent link
Kevin Ramer (4.5k8183200) | answered Jan 08 '14, 4:54 p.m.
edited Jan 08 '14, 4:54 p.m.
In RTC Components serve at least 2 purposes

1. To group related files/folders
  2. Some access controls
It seems that each Stream/Workspace must contain at least 1 Component. I've also read that the Component is the ultimate target of RTC Delivery activity.

Comments
Henning Sternkicker commented Jan 09 '14, 9:40 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER

Access control is one important thing about components, but the other is reuse across RTC-streams. As a stream is representing the "development area" of a team, you can share common parts of different projects with components. Components have the concepts of Baselines, with a Baseline you can identify a complete configuration of files in that component. That is important for reusing components and their content across streams (i.e. teams).

permanent link
Sumant Renukarya (1.1k23339) | answered Jan 09 '14, 2:48 a.m.
 Hello Mark

Components represent a logical group of features under a stream. You can have multiple streams representing modules and each stream can have multiple components.

Adding to Kevin, you might want to refer the details on components here: