It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to get the "Found In" field from an RTC "defect" type Work Item? Using the Java API

Minghua Zhao (2122) | asked Jan 08 '14, 10:44 a.m.
I'm fairly new in working with the API.

I've been trying to get the "Found In" field from an RTC work item by accessing the Work Item's Custom Attributes. Strangely, it did not show in the custom attributes.

I'm trying to figure out a way of getting the information from the Work Item. For example (this doesn't actually work)

IAttribute foundInAttribute = myWorkItemClient.findAttribute(projectAreaHandle, "foundIn", null);
                Object foundIn = currentWI.getValue(foundInAttribute);
                System.out.println("Found iN!!!" + foundIn.toString());

Thanks.

Comments
Ralph Schoon commented Jan 08 '14, 11:35 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

In addition to Susan, you might want to look into https://rsjazz.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/working-with-work-item-attributes/ and the posts it points to for some more information.

You need the ID of the attribute and you want to make sure the work item actually has this attribute as well (for custom attributes at least).

You should try to use the ID's that are presented in the process configuration. The id "foundIn" used to be as an internal ID and I am actually wondering why you don't get the attribute. what is your error message?

Minghua Zhao commented Jan 08 '14, 12:03 p.m.

So, running the code that I have posted above,
I get this:

Found iN!!!com.ibm.team.workitem.common.internal.model.impl.DeliverableHandleImpl@47fd47fd (stateId: [UUID _2HRlgD19EeOaCKbotV-cjA], itemId: [UUID _GHpZoM7LEeGTDftJfIlDZQ], origin: com.ibm.team.repository.client.internal.TeamRepository@57715771, immutable: true)

Minghua Zhao commented Jan 08 '14, 12:06 p.m.

Apparently, it does fetch something, but it doesn't help a lot..

Minghua Zhao commented Jan 08 '14, 1:50 p.m.