It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

JTS SSL: Valid ciphers for server certificate? [SOLVED]

Alex Bremer (2113) | asked Nov 29 '13, 8:04 p.m.
edited Nov 30 '13, 7:07 a.m.
Sorry for the long introduction but I'm not an SSL expert, so I basically have to describe what I did:

I was trying to change the server certificate for the JTS Tomcat server, even before running the initial setup. I created a new certificate using GnuTLS and signed it with my own CA. However when trying to connect to the server, I immediately got a "SSL handshake failure" from my browser which was probably because of the configured cipher suites (Tomcat server.xml) being too low. Using other tools like curl, openssl or gnutls I was able to establish a connection to the server, so the basic setup seemed to be ok.

I removed the "ciphers" line from the Tomcat connector which allowed me to successfully establish a connection to the server with firefox and start the JTS setup. However at the last step of the setup (when choosing the public URL), the setup program seems to trigger an internal connection to the server (server-to-server) which then again failed with an SSL error.

To verify that this is not a general SSL setup error, I created a new CA and server certificate using OpenSSL and a lower cipher suite. This time I was able to complete the setup step which tests the connection to the server. So I'm pretty sure that the only reason I can not complete the setup with my GnuTLS certificate is an incompatibility with the preconfigured cipher suites.

Obviously the "ciphers" parameter in the Tomcat server.xml was configured for a reason as some component of RTC does not seem to be able to deal with higher cipher suites.

So my question:
Is there a way to change this and allow cipher suites compatible with GnuTLS?