It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

wi workflow change is not inherited correctly by the child

Martina Riedel (20323341) | asked Jul 04 '13, 4:37 p.m.
edited Jul 04 '13, 4:42 p.m.
RTC 3.0.1.2
I have a master project and template and a bunch of children projects that use the master. All the children use the process form the master and show "unconfigured" for the Work Items sections, especially for the workflow.

I changed the workflow for story in the master (significantly) and as I am testing, the children kinda get it, but not quite. It looks like it is caching some old stuff somewhere.
In particular, I see the action "Verify" and instead of going to state "Verified" it changes to state "New".

When I click in the child on "Customize this Configuration Data" for workflow, everything works fine. After I delete the lines it creates in the child template, everything keeps working fine (it shows unconfigured again).

So I could click through all my children and do this, but I really don't want to. It beats the purpose of doing the change in one central location and be done with it.

I have done the work around for all the projects that actively use stories, but I have a bunch of children that currently don't use stories where I still need to do it and going forward, this isn't quite how I thought this works.

Any advice on how to force it to "reload" (or "uncache")

Accepted answer

permanent link
sam detweiler (12.5k6195201) | answered Jul 04 '13, 6:38 p.m.
on 3.0.1.1 we saw a couple cases where we needed to restart the server clean to force the process config to update for children.

we decided never to edit the process config of a parent live.  we always deployed a new template and then reparented the child projects to the new master.
Martina Riedel selected this answer as the correct answer

Comments
Martina Riedel commented Jul 04 '13, 7:02 p.m.

Lovely. Was this ever reported (and accepted) as a defect?

Thanks